The First Post

As the posts accumulate – and hopefully the readers as well – this first post will eventually be lost or forgotten. Today, however, it will be the only post on my naked and new blog! With this said, I will dedicate this blog to describing what the heck I was thinking when I decided to create this blog and where I (naively) expect it to go.

I want to be a journalist. I am currently working as an intern for a local newspaper, The Mercedes Enterprise. It’s run by a nice woman by the name of Clarissa, who, for some odd reason, believes in me. I am very thankful that she has accepted me, and I hope to excel past her expectations. I know that I’m not going to be an amazing writer at first. In reality, I’m going to overlook some things, misspell a word or too (two), and will have to rewrite introductions for hours. I am not perfect. Yet, this doesn’t put me down. It just motivates me to continue writing just like I had to practice my reading with Dr. Seuss’s Hop on Pop.

Now that you know my history, let’s get down to the moment I got THE NOTION – no seriously, this blog is called The Notion. I got the idea to create a blog awhile back, but I’d been putting it off because I didn’t know what I would write about. A pretty lame excuse? I think so. Which is why I sat my booty down and said, “Listen here, Becky, are you serious about this writing thing or not? Start the blog. Just start it,” (Yes I have these kind of imaginary moments, don’t judge me. They’re helpful!). So…. I got on WordPress and made an account. Now, here I am, with my new blog, The Notion, ready to fill it with stories about my sad attempts at learning photography, the long days of filling out college applications, and the my stressful perseverance to finish high school. Oh, and all the journalism business and other things that will fill some space for the day. Welcome to my blog. I hope it doesn’t disappoint us. 

2 comments

  1. Good luck with your blog! It’s always fun to see where our posts take us. 🙂

    1. Thanks! Lately, with everything I do, I try to think whether or not I could turn that event into a blog post. Especially when it comes to stuff I need help with since someone is bound to be an expert in the field here on WordPress.

Leave a Reply

